ASPA 2012 conference in Las Vegas – Core Twitter network

This weekend I attended the annual conference of the American Society of Public Administration in Las Vegas, NV. The theme of the conference was “Redefining Public Service through Civic Engagement. I was a fist-time attendee and loved the conference format: I had organized a panel on how social media innovations are adopted in the public sector and we received instant feedback and confirmation from the practitioners in the room.

ASPA has also asked its participants to actively engage with the speakers via social media. Twitter use was definitely in its infancy, but I had fun virtually connecting to people across panels and even remotely during the first two days of the conference, while I was still in Syracuse. I created the Twitter network based on users adding the #aspa2012 hashtag to their messages. All comes down Erik Bergrud’s (current ASPA president) use of Twitter:

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Ines Mergel. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ines Mergel

I am an Associate Professor of Public Administration at the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University, NY. In my research projects I am focusing on informal social networks in the public sector and the use of social media applications by government organizations. I teach classes on social media management, digital government, public management, and social network analysis.

Leave a Reply

