Networking and Personality Traits

I’m preparing a paper about how personality traits are influencing people’s networking behavior. The obvious hypothesis is, that extroverts are more open to make new contacts and introverts have a harder time to open up, initiate a contact on their own. I stumbled upon an interesting “how to network”-article for introverts on businesspundit.com this morning, that might be interesting for a lot of folks.

My other inclination is, that online social networking plattforms are making it easier for introverts to initiate contacts on their own and that personality traits might not have the same impact as in the offline world.

To be continued…

About Ines Mergel

I am Full Professor of Public Administration at the Department of Politics and Public Administration at University of Konstanz, Germany. Previously, I served as Assistant and then Associate Professor (with tenure) at the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University, NY. In my research, I focus on informal social networks in the public sector and the adoption and diffusion of digital service innovations in government organizations. I teach classes on social media management, digital government, public management, and social network analysis.

One thought on “Networking and Personality Traits

  1. Ines,

    I’d be very interested in hearing how this paper is/has been going. I am currently about to put together a proposal on personality in Second LIfe and think that your paper might be quite informative.

    If you have anything or any advice, thoughts then please let me know.

    James Doodson

Leave a Reply

