“Take a Risk, Save a Life”: Social Media in Emergency Management

PA Times Logo

The PA Times, published by the American Society for Public Administration, has just published a short article I wrote that is based on what I observed during Hurricane Sandy and the flooding in Calgary.

I uploaded the article to Slideshare:

Here is the full reference:
Mergel, I.: “Take a Risk, Save a Life”: Social Media in Emergency Management, in: PA Times, 36:3, p. 13.

Published by Ines Mergel

I am Full Professor of Public Administration at the Department of Politics and Public Administration at University of Konstanz, Germany, a fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration in Washington, DC, and a Schmidt Futures Fellow working on a platform called "Teaching Public Service in the Digital Age". Previously, I served as Associate Professor (with tenure) at the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University, NY, and as a postdoc at Harvard's Kennedy School of Government, Cambridge, MA. In my research, I focus on the transformation of work practices in the public sector and the adoption and diffusion of digital service innovations in government organizations.

Leave a comment