Big Data in Public Affairs – Keynote address EGPA 2017

Screen Shot 2017-09-01 at 10.39.16 AMI prepared a keynote address with the title “Big Data in Public Affairs” for the annual conference of the European Group of Public Administration (EGPA), Milan, Italy.  The presentation is based on a paper I authored together with Kim Isett and Karl Rethemeyer, which was published in Public Administration Review and a paper I published in the Journal of Public Affairs Education.

In my presentation, I provided an overview of the types of data that I consider as part of the big data deluge, the type of analyses that can be done with big data, organizational units in the public sector that are conducting data science, and then provided three examples from my own research. This has then led me to talk about the challenges and open research questions for public administration as a field.

The presentation is available on ResearchGate.

Published by Ines Mergel

I am Full Professor of Public Administration at the Department of Politics and Public Administration at University of Konstanz, Germany, a fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration in Washington, DC, and a Schmidt Futures Fellow working on a platform called "Teaching Public Service in the Digital Age". Previously, I served as Associate Professor (with tenure) at the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University, NY, and as a postdoc at Harvard's Kennedy School of Government, Cambridge, MA. In my research, I focus on the transformation of work practices in the public sector and the adoption and diffusion of digital service innovations in government organizations.

Leave a comment